The Journey – Part 1 – Chapter 8

Chapter 8

The agreement with Vulcans had been signed. The Andorian Empire had agreed to the observation satellites and Enterprise was on it way to Coridan. Trip was excited, four days of travel , a day of meeting with Ambassador Karak, then on day two there was the tour of the ship yards. He’d get to be an engineer for a day and learn something new.

Captain Archer called a staff meeting for the first morning they were back. Malcolm and Hoshi were already there when T’Pol came into the room followed by Trip. Captain Archer sat down and continued reading his padd. “So the Vulcans went from ‘that information is classified’ overnight and are sharing technology with Andorians.”

T’Pol responded. “It is unlikely the High Council decided this overnight. It is in the best interest of Vulcan to help our allies, so that we all survive the coming war.”

“True, but you have to admit they’ve been less than forthcoming with Earth.”

“That maybe true, but things change, Captain.” T’Pol was always upset when the Captain took shots at the Vulcans. He had accepted her and trusted her, but he could still be stubborn and shortsighted about non-humans.

Trip yawned and jerked his head back upright. “Are we keeping you awake Commander?”

“Sorry, Captain I didn’t get much sleep last night.”

“You’re not having those headaches or bad dreams again? Dr. Phlox said they were taken care of.”

Malcolm was suppressing a laugh and watching Trip waiting to hear his explanation. ‘I’m still technically on my honeymoon wasn’t going to work .’

Trip’s eyes rolled slightly as he tried to think of anything to say.

We’ve been reading Vulcan poetry.” T’Pol sent through the bond.

He looked at Archer. “No, Captain actually I was reading and lost track of time.”

Yeah, T’Pol he’s gonna buy single guy alone in his room reading Vulcan poetry.”

You are embarrassed?”

You’re really not helping here.”

The Captain continued. “You found an engineering manual you haven’t already read? I didn’t think there were any out there anywhere.”

“Ambassador Soval gave me copies of the reports on the Vulcan satellites and monitoring equipment, I’ve been studying them.” Soval had given him the reports and he had been going through them, but just not last night.

So is this what teenagers feel like when they lie to their parents about such behavior?”

He’s not my parent and I feel…I hate our relationship being a secret.”

We can tell the Captain whenever you wish.”

If we do that he’ll have to report it to Starfleet and we’ll have to resign. I need to finish what I started with Coridan. Soval may not have said much, but he did make it clear that I needed to develop a working relationship with them. The best way to do that is stay where I’m at, for now.”

It will not be much longer.”

I know, the Romulans are getting very serious about stirring up trouble, so Earth has no allies.”

Trip heard the Captain again. “Seems you and the Vulcans work very well together.”

“Not all Vulcans, mostly just Soval. We came to an understanding of sorts during the whole mess with Andor. He even tolerates Commander Shran since then. I still don’t understand why after Shran tortured him.”

“The Ambassador is a tough man to understand. Are you ready for negotiations with Ambassador Karak?”

“I think I have it covered. There shouldn’t be any problems. I can recite most of the agreements in my sleep. I’ve been over them so many times.”

“I have a request from Captain Vargus for an itinerary. Lieutenant can you make sure to coordinate security with Captain Vargus and Sub-Commander Kel?”

“Yes sir. Is Commander T’Pol attending these meetings?” Malcolm hadn’t had a chance to ask Trip.

“After last time we need to be sure of the situation on the planet. The Vulcans don’t want her there, but she has been invited to the ship yards, if she’s interested and if you and Captain Vargus agree it is safe.” Trip left out that he didn’t want her there until he knew it was safe.

Captain Archer agreed. “Probably best to follow the Vulcans advice, we don’t want her injured again. Okay, I need all the reports to forward to Starfleet. Dismissed.”

Hoshi came into the mess hall for dinner and saw Trip and Malcolm, who was white as a sheet. She walked to the table. “What did you do to him, Trip he looks ill?”

Trip responded, “Just made him a little seasick.”

“How do you get seasick on a starship?”

“Well, I sent my parents a message that there would be four of us coming for our two weeks leave. They responded that they only had three guest rooms. I informed them we would only need two rooms and my Dad wrote back if that’s the case his new boat has three bedrooms, so would we like to take a 2-3 day sail down the coast of Florida, do some sightseeing and scuba diving, and you see Malcolm’s reaction?”

“You get seasick Malcolm?”

Trip looked at Mal, who wasn’t saying anything. “You’re on your own, Mal.”

Malcolm finally spoke up embarrassed. “I’m not seasick, I just never … I don’t know how to swim.”

Hoshi was confused. “Didn’t you have training with the Royal Navy before you joined Starfleet?”

“Yes.”

“So, how do you not learn how to swim in the Navy?”

Malcolm just shook his head and looked at Trip for some help. Trip smiled and told him. “I’m sorry, but you explain it because I never understood why you joined the Navy to begin with?”

Malcolm still wasn’t saying anything. Trip finally told Hoshi. “He joined the Navy, but he hates the water.”

Hoshi sat down. “You don’t like water. How were you planning on avoiding it being on a ship or in a submarine surrounded by water?”

“My question exactly.” Trip said.

Malcolm finally answered. “My father insisted I be a Navy man. I thought if I got a commission on a sub where I couldn’t see the water I could just get over it. I couldn’t do it, so I joined Starfleet.”

“I shouldn’t be teasing you. T’Pol doesn’t like water either. I’ll just tell my Dad to forget it.” Trip offered.

Malcolm looked across the table. “Hoshi do you want to do this?”

“I don’t want you to have to spend time on a boat if you’re going to hate it.”

Malcolm took a deep breath. “If everybody else wants to go then I’ll go, but I’ll need a life jacket and I will not get in the water. My whole family is Navy, we were always around water, so I think I can manage 2-3 days. I just couldn’t face a lifetime of it.”

“Now how do we convince T’Pol?” Trip asked.


Enterprise arrived in Coridan space. The meeting went well the first day. It looked like the new Chancellor wanted status with the Coalition. They couldn’t become full members, until the Tellarites stopped blocking them, but they were more than willing to enter into unofficial agreements with any and all members of the Coalition. Trip spent much of his time talking to the Chancellor and Ambassador Karak about the prospect of war with the Romulans and how it affected their sector of space and they had a final agreement by days end.

Trip and Malcolm decided to tour the shipyards. The engineers gave them access to every area, but two. They had a research section and a warp drive development area that were off limits. They let them on the latest ship they were finishing up outfitting and showed them the warp 7 engine they had. They had taken technology from several species throughout the Alpha quadrant and some from the Expanse and made it work together. Trip talked to the engineers about the warp drive and the design of the core and narcellas. The ways the hull had been strengthened and could the current configuration eventually go beyond warp 7? He would have spent days there if he’d been able to, but they were headed home tomorrow after the agreement was signed. Trip learned that the Coridans were more than willing to share what they knew about the technology they had acquired. The chief engineer told him, “You can get anything you want that’s out there for the right price. It also helps if you know the right people.” Trip was certain the Coridans knew the right people.

After making their final trip to Coridan, Trip and Malcolm joined T’Pol and Hoshi in the Captain’s Ready room. It seemed the crew morale was becoming a problem with not much to do. Captain Archer told T’Pol, as first officer, she had to figure out a way to give them something to do for the 5 weeks they had before they reached Jupiter Station.

Captain Archer arrived. “Well, what did you come up with, Commander?” He asked looking right at T’Pol. Trip and Malcolm had no idea what he was talking about.

“I have been talking to the crew and they have several suggestions, but Ensign Mayweather’s idea seems to be the best. “

“What is his suggestion?”

“He said when he was on Horizon and they had long stretches of time to fill they would put on shows. The crew would perform various types of entertainment. He says most of the crew became involved as performers or what he called ‘stage hands’ to help those who were performing with costumes and props.”

Trip couldn’t believe it. “You’re talking about a talent show?”

“Yes, that is what he called it. He assures me that many of our crew have talent in many areas and would be happy to perform.”

Captain Archer seemed surprised. “Would you be willing to set something up, T’Pol?”

“I have consulted with Ensign Sato and she will assist me. She thinks we can handle it. “

“It sounds like a good idea. Archer headed out the door. “I expect all the senior staff to do everything they can to make this a success.”

Malcolm looked at Trip. “Looks like were going to be building a stage and sets. At least it will give us something to do.”

“You are not going to perform?” T’Pol questioned looking from Trip to Malcolm.

Malcolm snapped. “There’s no bloody way I’m getting on a stage.”

Trip looked back at T’Pol. “I will if you will.” The minute it came out of his mouth he knew he’d made a mistake. He didn’t want to be on stage either. He should never have challenged her and he forgot she liked play-acting.

“Then I will.” T’Pol replied.

Hoshi had a sinister grin on her face. “Maybe we can all do something together. You sure you don’t want to join us Malcolm, it will be fun?”

“No way. I am not going to make a fool out of myself in front of the crew.”

“You’ve done it before. Remember your pissing contest with Major Hayes. You two acted like a couple of idiots in front of the crew for weeks. Malcolm was livid. “Come on Mal, it’ll be fun. “

“No, I’ll help in any way I can, but I draw the line at performing.”

The crew signed on to the idea. Little groups could be found all over the ship practicing. Hoshi said she’d come up with some ideas that they could do as a group. She seemed to be leaning towards some kind of comedy skit, but hadn’t let Trip or T’Pol know exactly what she had in mind, yet. Later in the week Trip and Malcolm were doing some target practice.

“Mal, do you know what Hoshi has in mind for this skit I got myself into?”

“No, she has been looking at several. I think it will probably be a Monty Python skit.”

“Really, somehow I never thought of Hoshi as someone who would like them.”

“Actually she likes a lot of our British humor and she has her own wicked sense of humor.”

“I’ll have to remember that. I have to learn to keep my mouth shut. I practically dared T’Pol to do it and she will never back down from a challenge, but then I was sure she’d be as dead set against it as you are.”

“I promised Hoshi I’d do it.”

“You what?”

“She made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.”

“Please tell me you didn’t. What did she offer you?” Trip heard T’Pol bust out laughing through the bond.

“T’Pol taught her how to do neuro-pressure …” When Trip heard neuro-pressure.

T’Pol you didn’t?”

To what are you referring?”

You taught her all the positions?”

Of course, why would I only teach her part of the lessons.”

Trip turned his attention fully back to Malcolm .

“…and told her she has advanced enough to perform it on me. At first I said no because of what you told me about your sessions with T’Pol, and Hoshi told me there was more to it than you told me. She just kept teasing me and taunting me with how much I would enjoy it, and I caved.”

“We really have to keep those two women apart.”

“What are you talking about.”

“We’ve been hosed. Thanks to you I not only have to do this sketch with the four of us, I now have to do a second performance.”

“What do I have to do with that?’

“Hoshi and I made a bet, which was her idea by the way. If she got you to do the skit, she picks something for me to do and if she didn’t I pick something for her to do.”

“You got hosed I didn’t.”

“When you told me that you were doing this skit just now T’Pol started laughing, she knew what Hoshi was going to do. She helped her.”

Realization of what Trip was saying hit Malcolm. “I told you Hoshi has a wicked sense of humor. Sounds like T’Pol does too. Something tells me she knows exactly, which skit we’re doing.”

Self Defense from Fruit.”

What are you talking about.”

That is the skit by a Monty Python.”

“Well, I have some good news for you. You’ll love the payoff. There is more to the regular neuro-pressure than I told you about, but there’s also a whole intimate set of positions I didn’t know anything about until we got married.”

“That good huh?”

Trip shook his head emphatically yes. “T’Pol says it’s a Monty Python skit called ‘Self Defense from Fruit.”

“You’re kidding?”

“I take it you’ve seen it?”

“Yes.” Malcolm smiled. “It’s Hoshi’s way of telling me I need to loosen up a little and not take everything so seriously. “

“You’re not upset about this at all are you?”

“She might be right. It can’t hurt to have a little fun. Even if it’s at my own expense.”

As he stood there studying his friend he saw something in his eyes. “You have it bad, Mal.”

Malcolm’s face said it all. “This is all your fault, you know?”

“I just wanted you to have some fun. I didn’t tell you to fall in love with her.”

“That’s why I stayed away from her. The rules were part of it, but I’d been having a conversation with myself for months about why I shouldn’t get close to her. I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep it casual. I’d already become friends with you and you can’t be close to people and be a soldier. I have to be detached or it makes it harder to do my job. I don’t know what I’m going to do when the war starts . Hoshi refuses to leave Enterprise if I’m staying and all I keep thinking about is what would have happened when the Xindi had her and I’d felt the way I do now?”

“You would have done your job.”

“I would have put myself and everybody else in more danger and you know it. I’d have wanted to rip that ship apart with my bare hands. You’d do the same if it were T’Pol. “

“You’re right I haven’t been able to focus clearly on anything else when she’s in trouble for a long time now and it’s only gotten worse. Our bond makes keeping her safe and protected my only priority. We’ve been talking about what happens when the war comes too and haven’t come up with a solution yet, but we have to and soon.”

“Are you thinking about leaving Enterprise?”

“I can’t see how we can stay. Neither of us can do our job, if we’re constantly worried about each other. You saw me when she got shot. It wouldn’t be fair to put the rest of the crew at risk because of our relationship and our bond.”

“I don’t have a bond like yours with Hoshi, but I’m really worried about what is going to happen. I don’t want to lose her.”

“Then don’t. It’s that simple, you do whatever it takes. “

“When I got to Enterprise I thought I’d be here until I died or Enterprise was out of commission. I’m not so sure anymore.”

Trip wasn’t ready to make those choices yet. “Enough of this for now. Makes doing a couple of skits look a whole lot less scary though doesn’t it. Let’s go find T’Pol and Hoshi.”

“You’re right. I shoot people and they shoot back. I blow things up. I can do this.”

“I’m going to remind you of that when you start complaining when we’re rehearsing.”

“You won’t have to. Whenever I get to uptight about things lately, I hear Hoshi telling me ‘ Malcolm relax, life’s too short to be so overly serious all the time.’”

Trip and Hess were discussing what to do to keep the crew busy. They’d done all the maintenance that was needed, probably more than was necessary, since they were headed to space dock for repairs and upgrades. All the relays and injectors were scheduled for replacement, so all they needed to do was keep the engine in good working order until they reached Jupiter Station.

Suddenly Trip put his arms behind his head, “Stop. It hurts, my God stop.” As he dropped his head to the desk, Hess heard him say “T’Pol” as if he were looking for her. Trip tried calling out to her through the bond. “T’Pol” . The pain and sound reverberated throughout his brain and there was no sense of her.

Trip began to panic. He got up and forced himself to get to the turbolift. When he got inside and the door shut he slammed his hand against the button for sickbay and then commed Malcolm. “Lieutenant Reed this is Commander Tucker.”

“What do you need Commander?”

Almost yelling. “Find T’Pol and meet me in sickbay, now.”

Malcolm could tell something was wrong. “Are you okay?”

“No, it feels like someone’s drilling holes in my head. Find T’Pol.”

Trip made it to sickbay and as he was trying to explain to the Phlox what was happening the door opened. Malcolm and T’Pol walked towards them. She had her fingers to the sides of her head pressing hard. The look of relief on both Trip and T’Pol’s faces did not go unnoticed by Malcolm. The pain increased again. T’Pol was trying to communicate through the bond.

“Talk out loud T’Pol. Too much going on in my head to hear and it hurts. Do you know what’s happening?”

“No. It feels like someone is trying to get inside our minds. Whatever they are doing and our efforts to keep them out is causing much pain.”

“I got that. I don’t even know if it’s my pain or yours. The bond seems to be amplifying it and I can’t block it out.”

“You are blocking most of it out or the pain would be too much.”

“Why can’t I feel you?”

“The shields we have put up are blocking everything.”

“I didn’t put any shields up.”

“You have been shielding long enough that your mind has learned to automatically protect itself.”

Phlox had been using his handheld scanner to see if he could explain what was causing their pain. He also noted that Malcolm had been standing there listening to them discuss their bond and hadn’t seemed surprised at all. He assumed when Trip told him Malcolm and Hoshi knew about them that he meant they were aware of their relationship, not the bond.

“Your brain activity has increased significantly in all areas. “ Before Phlox could finish the tactical alarm sounded “Intruder alert.”, “Intruder alert” “All hands to battle stations.” Malcolm started for the door, looked back to see Trip starting after him. “You two stay here, I’ll explain to the Captain where you are,” and headed for the bridge.

Trip could now feel the effects of having to shield his mind for so long. It was exhausting. “Trip, you have to stay awake. If you sleep you cannot shield your mind. You must concentrate. We must help each other. “

“Tell me how.” She motioned for him to follow her across the room and told him to sit down. He sat and she sat across from him.

“We are not going to meditate, that would be the same as sleeping. Close your eyes and breath. Just relax, I will find you.”

He could feel her. It wasn’t the same as usual, but she was there. Once the connection was made he felt much stronger. “Now concentrate on keeping the flow of the bond between us even, back and forth.”

Phlox was standing back fascinated at what the Commanders were doing and at how far they had come in making this bond work between them.

The doors to sickbay opened. They were all looking up and Phlox’s eyes followed theirs. Malcolm and Captain Vargus both fired their phasers. Two Suliban fell from the ceiling and hit the floor with a loud thud. Malcolm went to be sure they were dead, while Captain Archer and Captain Vargus stood watching Trip and T’Pol sitting on the floor. Archer assumed they were meditating, but didn’t understand why Trip was there with T’Pol.

Trip opened his eyes and looked at T’Pol. She looked at him and said, “It has stopped Commander Tucker, thank you for your assistance.”

“Glad I could help.” They both stood up and headed to where Malcolm was standing. He had two small devices in his hand. “They each had one of these. Seem to be some sort of homing device they were going to attach to you.”

Exasperated Captain Archer asked. “What’s going on, you two have everybody after you?”

Captain Vargus responded. “The Cabal work for the Romulans, the Orions, the Guardians, and according to your own accounts some faction of the ‘Temporal Cold War’. All of them have many reasons to want them. This is why we were ordered to continue with Enterprise, until you were out of Vulcan airspace.”

“Malcolm how did they get on board.” Trip asked.

“I don’t know yet. They started on the bridge, went to Engineering, and the Science lab, then each of your quarters, searching for you. Looks like Captain Vargus was right to insist you keep that Vulcan tracking device on. If you hadn’t they would have found you immediately and tagged you with these.” Malcolm said as he held out the Suliban devices.

Captain Archer looked at Malcolm. “Can we keep them from trying this again?”

“They seem to be able to get aboard without sensors picking them up. I don’t even know what set the sensors off. We didn’t have any life sign readings. The only reason we were able to follow them here was because of the Vulcan’s tricorder.”

“Captain Vargus do you have any suggestions as to how we stop the Suliban.”

“The only way we can help you Captain Archer is if the Commanders come aboard our ship. We have a force field that will prevent intruders from boarding us.”

“Phlox is Commander T’Pol okay to leave sickbay?” Captain Archer inquired.

“Let me run some scans and if I see nothing wrong I’ll let her go.”

“Okay, as soon as Phlox releases Commander T’Pol you two get whatever you need and transport over to the Tal’Kyr with Captain Vargus and we’ll do what we can to figure out how to keep you safe here. Lieutenant Reed, you’re with me.”

“Be right there Captain I’m going to help Doctor Phlox with these bodies.”

Malcolm moved closer to Trip and T’Pol, who had just touched their fingers together. “Are you two really okay?”

“We still have headaches, but once you shot them the worst of the pain stopped. Mal, we really need to figure out how to make our sensors detect them.” A frustrated Trip said.

“I’m trying. What were they doing in your head?” Malcolm inquired.

T’Pol answered. “I believe they were trying to locate us? Their telepathic abilities are much improved since the last time they boarded Enterprise.”

Trip motioned to Vargus. “What exactly are your tricorders sensing that ours miss?”

“I believe they emit an energy reading because of their genetic enhancements.”

“Can your tactical officer help Lieutenant Reed modify our sensors to detect them?” Trip asked.

“That info…”

“I know it’s classified. Why do I even ask?”

“Trip, let us get to the ship. We must meditate and then we must contact Ambassador Soval.”

“Yeah, we have a couple of big problems. We need to keep these tracking devices on, but only the Vulcans can find us. We need to be able to detect the Suliban and only the Vulcans can do that. Either they’re going to have to find a way to babysit us long term, or give us the technology to do it ourselves and Soval needs to explain why we have become targets for every terrorists group we’ve ever meet.”

T’Pol headed out of sickbay towards the turbolift. “I believe his answer will be the Romulans.”

They had their chat with Soval. Trip still wasn’t happy with the answers Soval had given, but he did say he was working on a way to better protect them without the Tal’Kyr having to go to Jupiter Station and then onto Earth. There didn’t appear to be any Suliban or Romulans on Earth or in its airspace. There were Orion agents, but the Vulcan Security Ministry , at the Consulate, had them all under surveillance. The Romulans were responsible for the most of the sudden interest in Trip and T’Pol, as they deemed them largely responsible for the strengthening of the Coalition, which made Earth’s prospects in a war much stronger.

Being aboard a Vulcan ship was starting to wear on Trip. He meditated, read the Kir’Shara, studied the areas of the ship they would let him explore, but soon became bored. T’Pol wouldn’t let him touch her, except with his two fingers and to cuddle when they slept. Even though they were sharing a bed. She wouldn’t rehearse with him, as she did not want the other Vulcans aboard to see her acting so human. It was also starting to drive him a little crazy. It had been a week and he finally couldn’t take it anymore and while eating dinner, where no one talked, he blurted out, “Okay, I give up what do Vulcans do to keep from going crazy out here?”

Captain Vargus had a strange look on his face. “Vulcans do not go crazy. We study, we meditate, and we do our duty.”

“So everybody studies Surak and the Kir’Shara and meditates in their free time, that’s it?”

“Some of our crew play chess or kal-toh.”

“I am learning Vulcan chess and I’ve heard of kal-toh, it’s those sticks you put together to make a ball. Those aren’t games one plays in the same way humans mean play, they’re just a different way to study logic. How long are your crew assigned to a ship?”

“Most Vulcans must serve on a military or science vessel for five to ten years. It depends on what career they are to go into.”

“Five to ten years with nothing to do, but work, study, and meditate. Gives new meaning to what I understood about Vulcan control. “

T’Pol said nothing. Trip could feel that she was upset with him. She thought he was being disrespectful.

“Captain Vargus I don’t mean to offend you, but I need to get back to Enterprise before I embarrass myself and my wife.”

“I am not offended Commander Tucker, I am actually surprised you lasted a week here, following all our customs. You may return to your ship and I will provide you with a tricorder that can be interfaced into your sensors to detect the Suliban and the Orions, if I have your word it will be returned to Vulcan if you leave Enterprise.”

“Aren’t you worried that Starfleet will try to take it apart and duplicate it?”

“It has been modified so that if the seal were to be broken all the data inside would be erased.”

“I need to talk to Captain Archer. We’ll have to tell him that it’s being provided to T’Pol and that she must return it to Vulcan when we no longer need it.”

“That is acceptable. I will also provide you each with your own tricorder. These you should keep with you at all times. We also need to discuss the device you wear to hide your bio-signs and to be tracked.”

“What about them?”

“The device could easily be removed if you were taken. There are two options available to you. One is to have one implanted under your skin. It could also be removed. The other is a chip that is injected into an artery in your neck.”

“Which means it’s permanent?”

“Yes, it is a very small chip that would enter your bloodstream and lodge into your brain tissue. It is undetectable and cannot be removed?”

Trip didn’t know what to say. “So we wouldn’t show up on Starfleet’s sensors ever.”

“You could only be located by the tricorders I give you or Vulcan sensors that have been designed for that purpose. “

“This is a stupid question, but can I assume ‘this information is classified’ ?”

“Yes, no one must know of this. It is a security measure we have recently begun to employ to protect the highest officials on Vulcan. As Vulcan citizens you have been classified as important to the future of Vulcan , as well as, Earth.” Vargus was waiting for a decision.

Looking at T’Pol Trip responded. “We need to talk about this and would you contact Ambassador Soval and tell him that, before Enterprise leaves Jupiter Station we need to finish our discussion about the future.”

“I will give him your message. You need to give me your decision before we go back to Vulcan.”

Back in Trip’s quarters he and T’Pol were discussing recent events. “Darlin, where is all this going? I’m starting to feel like some sort of spy or something.”

“You are not spying on anyone.”

“I know that, but the secrets just keep piling up and getting more serious as we go. I’m worried about the Vulcan High Command and what they intend to try to do about getting you back to Vulcan. Giving them a permanent way to locate us doesn’t sound like a good idea, but giving our enemies a way to remove such a device isn’t smart either. For now we can explain why we aren’t on sensors, but what happens once we get back to Earth? Somebody besides Malcolm is bound to notice.”

“The High Council cannot make me come back to Vulcan. They can ask or try to order me back, but the only way to keep me there would be to lock both you and I up somewhere and that would serve no purpose at all. The Ambassador knows all this, so if he set all this up he must have a very good reason.”

“Maybe I should have asked to speak to him again to be sure he did set this up.”

“Do you doubt that Captain Vargus is loyal to the Ambassador?”

“I’d never meet Vargus until Soval sent him, so I don’t know for sure who he is loyal to and how much I should trust him. Let’s just think about it. We have some time to decide and I have much more important matters I’d like to think about right now, like I haven’t kissed my wife in a week.”

“Did you not insist you could control your needs when I was injured?”

“You’re not injured and I don’t understand why you insisted I not touch you, but we’re not on the Tal’Kyr now and I want to make love to you in the worst way.”

“I insisted because Vulcans have exceptional hearing and the walls are thin on a Vulcan ship. Most humans would not have noticed strange looks from the crew, but you would have and become very uncomfortable.”

“There’s only one Vulcan here now, so shut up and kiss me.” The frustration of the forced restraint fed into their passion and the desire overtook them with a fierceness that wiped out everything, but their need for each other.


They had a week before they reached Jupiter Station and it was time for the talent show to begin. Malcolm had been pacing waiting for Hoshi to let them know it was time. He was nervous, but less apprehensive than he thought he would be. Rehearsing had been fun, as the group laughed and tried to be serious to get through the routine. Trip kept bursting out laughing at T’Pol, who Hoshi had cast perfectly as the self defense instructor. Her Vulcan demeanor fit the part perfectly, but every time she had to twist her neck and twitch, Trip lost it. He also found it difficult to keep a straight face each time Malcolm proclaimed to the instructor they needed to know how to defend themselves against someone with a pointed stick. It took them a week of daily rehearsing before they got through it with a minimum of laughter. Then they all sat and watched as Trip did the dramatic reading Hoshi had picked for him, ‘Ode to An Engineer’. He didn’t know if she’d found it somewhere or written it , but he suspected she had at least changed it or added to it, because it nailed everyone of his bad habits, his perfectionism, and the frustrations of being an engineer. It was written in a way that made it seem as if he was poking fun at his chosen career and he couldn’t get through it without laughing.

Trip had asked if they wanted to get together later to unwind, but he saw Hoshi shoot Malcolm a glance that told him the answer would be ‘no’. Then he remembered that Hoshi owed Malcolm his reward of a neuro-pressure session. As soon as the show was over Malcolm and Hoshi disappeared. The crew were all relaxed and happy as Trip looked around and realized how long it had been since they had all been this way and then the thought that it wouldn’t last long enough was reflected on his face.

Captain Archer gave T’Pol a message from Ambassador Soval that said that she should contact him, in person, at the consulate before leaving to return to Jupiter Station and that he had made arrangements to take care of her family matters and that all was well. They took the last part to mean that he had indeed made arrangements through Captain Vargus, so they contacted him and had the chips injected and got the tricorders from him. They hadn’t talked to Captain Archer, because they decided that they would discuss things with Malcolm first. They would be leaving Enterprise soon. They had no solid facts to base this on, but they both knew the war with the Romulans would be coming within the next several months and whatever Soval had planned for them would most likely need to happen before the war started. They couldn’t tell Malcolm and Hoshi everything yet, but they were going to at least prepare them for some of the changes that would be coming.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment